
IN THE MAGISTRATE COURT OF LEE COUNTY 
PROCEDURES FOR FILING GARNISHMENTS 

 
1. You must have a judgment not to exceed $15,000.00 against an individual or an entity before you file an Affidavit 
of Garnishment and the Garnishee must be located in Lee County.  If the judgment was issued outside the Magistrate 
Court of Lee County, a copy of the judgment must be attached to the Affidavit of Garnishment. 
 
2. Once you have obtained a judgment against the defendant, you must decide which type of garnishment to file: 

Affidavit of Continuing Garnishment for wages: may be filed only where and Employer/Employee relationship exists 
between the garnishee and the defendant. 
Affidavit of Garnishment 
Affidavit of Garnishment on a Financial Institution 
Affidavit of Continuing Garnishment for Support 

Please choose the correct affidavit and summons a pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 18-4-7(d).  If the Plaintiff chooses the incorrect 
form of summons of garnishment of any type, the garnishment shall be invalid and the garnishee shall be released of all 
liability.   
 
3. The costs of filing a garnishment in this Court is $110.00.  This includes all filing fees and service of the garnishment 
on the Garnishee. 
 
4. You will need the following forms to file with the Court: The court has packets available. 
 1 copy of the Affidavit of Garnishment 
 1 copy of the Summons of Garnishment 

1 copy of the Notice to Defendant of Right Against Garnishment of Money, Including Wages and Other Property 
and Defendant’s Claim Form 

 1 copy of the Georgia Garnishment Exemptions 
 1 copy of the Answer Form 
 
The Court will retain all originals and serve the garnishee with the service copy.  You will need to make a copy of all forms 
to serve on the Defendant as required in O.C.G.A. § 18-4-8(b).   
 
5. The total amount of the garnishment can include the amounts that you were awarded in your judgment, any interest 
and court costs you may be entitled.  This amount cannot exceed $15,000.00.  The Affidavit of Garnishment must be 
notarized. 
 
6. Pursuant to O.C.G.A. 18-4-8(b), the Plaintiff must serve the Defendant with a copy of the Affidavit of Garnishment, 
the Summons of Garnishment, and the Notice to Defendant of Right Against Garnishment of Money, Including Wages and 
Other Property, Defendant’s Claim Form and Georgia Garnishment Exemptions.  The Defendant must be served within the 
time of filing the affidavit and three (3) business days after the service of the garnishment on the Garnishee.  If the Defendant 
is not served within this time period the garnishment may be dismissed.  If the Defendant is a resident of Lee County and 
you want the Sheriff to serve him/her with his/her copy of the garnishment, please add an additional $50.00 to the cost. 
 
7. Please file a Certificate of Service with appropriate service checked, along with all required documents with the 
Court.  The Court will not disburse any funds until the Certificate of Service is received.  Plaintiff’s obligation to provide 
notice of the garnishment to the Defendant is governed by O.C.G.A. § 18-4-8.  Please read this code section if you are 
unfamiliar with garnishment law regarding notice to the Defendant.  
 
8. If the Court receives funds from the Garnishee, the funds will be disbursed according to the law in a timely manner.  
The Court must receive documentation that the Defendant has been served with the garnishment before any funds will be 
disbursed. Also the court must receive a Plaintiff’s Application Disbursement of Funds before any funds will be disbursed to 
the Plaintiff.  
 
9. All correspondence should be addressed to:  Lee County Magistrate Court, PO Box 522, Leesburg, GA 31763.  You 
may contact the Clerk’s office at (229) 759-6016 for general information about a case.   
 
Please be advised that the clerks of the Magistrate Court are not lawyers and are prohibited by law from giving you 
legal advice.    


